The Ultimate Hero – Part 6 (20/21 Season)

Good evening all and welcome back to the latest instalment of my Ultimate Hero” challenge where I am trying to get all 6 hero achievements available on Steam, this means getting a team from the lowest available division to the highest division in the following countries: England, Scotland, Spain, Germany, Italy and Brazil.

As you will know from my previous article I am currently with Lealtad of Spain, this will now be my 5th season and after a very respectable 10th position in Liga Adelante last season I’m confident this season we can make a push for the play-offs. Its going to be tough but I’m sure we can give it a go.

As every season so far I really needed to improve the squad. I shipped out a few players on frees and went about trying to bolster the team. I made a lot of signings again! And here they are:

Signing 1 – Davi was signed on a pre-contract deal from FC Crotone. He will add experience in midfield

t9

Signing 2 – Gotze can play anywhere on the left hand side and will add strength in depth to my squad. Another pre-contract signing from Illertissen

t8

Signing 3 – Miapa will give competition on the right wing, signed on a free transfer

t7

Signing 4 – Alberto was signed from Sporting Gijon for £12.75k (a club record fee!) He will be my first choice GK

t5

Signing 5 – Eguizabal is another midfielder, signed on loan from Alcoyano, he will provide decent competition

t6

Signing 6 – Jordan, another loan signing, this time from Celta Vigo, he will add some much needed strength to my defence

t4

Signing 7 – Penaranda, if you read my previous posts you will know I had him on loan last season, he was released and I immediately signed him

t2

Signing 8 -Deli, another free transfer signing. He will be my back-up striker to Nierga

t3

And finally! Signing 9 – Camporese is another CB, and much needed, my defence isn’t good enough and hopefully he will provide good competition, another free transfer

t1

So yes a lot of signing but in my eyes they were all needed, my squad now looks pretty good.

squad.png

So signing done, squad ready, we head into the new season in good spirits, the board are expecting us to “attempt to avoid relegation” but I really feel we can improve on our 10th position from last season

Copa Del Rey

We entered into the Copa del Rey in the 2nd round and managed to get through the first 2 rounds, both games were against fellow Liga Adelante teams and in both games we played well and although the scores looked close we deserved to go through

cdr1

We headed into the 4th round and were drawn against Las Palmas, they has won Liga Adelante last season so I knew it would be tough.

In the 1st leg we played at home and played well to manage a 1-0 win, it was a lead and doubly good we had stopped them scoring that important away goal. The 2nd leg was ridiculous, al half-time we had a 1-0 lead, and much deserved, the 2nd half was crazy, by the end of the game it was 4-4, this included 2 goals for either side in the final 5 minutes of the game. It was nerve-wracking but we were through and fully deserved. The next opponent couldn’t get much tougher!

cdrrd4.png

Yes we had drawn Barcelona, the first leg again was at home and Barca had put out a full strength team, we played well but couldn’t stop them and we lost the game 3-1, the dream looked over, but we still had a visit to the Nou Camp to go through

cdr5rd1l

And what a second leg it was! Yes we beat them 2-1 IN THE NOU CAMP! It wasn’t enough to go through but it showed that on our day we can compete, we were out but it gave us confidence, could that convert itself to the domestic league?

cdr 5rd2l

Liga Adelante

I really felt this season we could make a push for the play-offs but as the season started and progressed it seemed it was going to be a dream dashed. We won, then we lost, we won, then we lost! We never kept up a decent run of form and as the season got to its half way point we were more in a relegation battle than a play-off push. At no point did we win more than 2 games, our longest unbeaten run was 5 games, but also at no point did we lose more than 2 games in a row.

The play-off dream was over and as the season drew to a close we were in mid-table mediocrity, no where near relegation but also no where near the top 6. The worst thing was we couldn’t even improve on last seasons points tally. We tried but at the end of the season we fell 1 point short and with that a 12th place spot

table.png

As much as we had exceeded the board expectations it felt to me as though we had fallen short. I really hope if I stop signing so many players and keep the squad together and happy then next year can be our year. Who knows to be honest but I’m determined to go that extra strep and claim my first “Hero” achievement. I’ve been here 5 years now and I really want to get a move on and start moving through this challenge!

So an average season but who were out best players? Here are a few screenshots of the new FM16 end of season review news items

end of seaosn awardsend of season reviewend of seaosn stats

Again Nierga was our top scorer, it was nice to see CM loan signing Eguizabal being probably our best player of the season, he is out of contract and he will be the first player I try to sign for the next campaign

One disappointing piece of news is the board have slashed our wage budget.

budgets.png

Last season it was £45k a week, its now £36k a week, this puts us around £2k over budget. In some ways this is good as it will stop me signing SO many players! I’ve earmarked a few players that I want to remove and a few positions I want to fill but it might be that I make the most of the loan market for the next season.

So there you have it, another season down and STILL we are looking for that illusive first hero achievement. I can feel its getting closer, Lealtad are definitely on the up, lets hope next time around we can improve and push ourselves to get into La Liga!

Thanks for reading

On a side note if you follow me on Twitter you will know I have now started my full mode save with Hinckley AFC, this wont mean this save stops but updates will be a bit less frequent, my plan is to bring you a “Hero” update every Thursday, the Hinckley AFC save is purely Twitter based and all updates for that will be on there, the “Hero” save will be purely based on the blog. So stay tuned and I really hope you are enjoying the journey!

Leave a Reply

