The Ultimate Hero – Part 4 (2018/19 season)

Good evening all and welcome to my latest post where I am attempting to become the “Ultimate Hero” and gain all 6 hero achievements available on Steam. This means taking a club from the bottom division to the top division. You can gain these in England, Scotland, Brazil, Spain, Italy and Germany.

If you had read my last post you will know I’m currently struggling to get out my 1st division. 3 seasons down and 2 of them with CD Lealtad in Spain, so far I have ended 2nd both seasons only to lose in the Play-offs.

To be honest I’m finding it incredibly hard, we have no money and minimal wages but my team I feel is pretty strong and now my main competitors Albacete won promotion I now feel I can challenge for that top spot which will mean only 1 play-off round for promotion, whereas it’s 3 rounds if you end between 2nd and 4th.

So as I head into my 4th season of the challenge and my 3rd season with Lealtad I’m feeling pretty confident of my chances. But I started with disappointment, as mentioned in my previous post my star striker Comochu wouldn’t  sign a new deal as he wanted to play in a higher division (ironically he didn’t sign for anyone until January where he signed for Ferrol who didn’t even make th play-offs in our division!!)

So I needed to replace Comochu was someone of similar ability, I didn’t really need many more players. I did re-sign Barrera who was fantastic last season on another season long loan. I also could do with a CB and a back-up Goalkeeper.

I managed to get all 3 and 1 extra, here they are:

Signing 1 – Adrian Lapena, signed from Real Sociedad B on a free transfer Lapena is OK for this level and will provide decent back-up. He can also play as RB which will help out as I only have 1 proper RB.

t3

Signing 2 – Curro Perez, I decided at the last minute to buy another CB, and this guy was brought in a season long loan from Cacareno. He is down on the picture as on a free transfer as when I did the screenshot the season had ended and so had his loan, Cacareno had then released him.

t4

Signing 3 – Alvaro, another free transfer signing from Rayo Majadahonda B, he will provide good back-up in goal

t2

And finally Signing 4 – Marc Nierga was signed to replace Comochu and is the perfect fit for my style, tall and strong and good in front of goal

t1
So my squad looks really good for this season. We don’t have a massive squad but if we can steer clear of injuries its big enough to go for a title challenge. We are predicted to end 5th but I’m fully expecting to at least end 2nd again and hopefully go that one step further

The Domestic Season – Copa Federacion

I’m not sure how they decide who enters this competition and it came around as a bit of a shock, it’s made up of non league teams and 3rd tier teams. We were entered into the prelim round where we faced fellow Second Division B1 team Mensajero, I didn’t play my full strength team in these games as I wanted players fresh for the league but we managed to win both legs 1-0

copa fed prelim

In the 1st round we played Second Division B3 team Mirandes and after winning the away leg 1-0 I was confident of progression, the 2nd leg was a mad game, we took a 2-0 lead, then went 3-2 down, the game ended 4-3 to Mirandes and we were out on away goals. Absolutely gutted but this competition isn’t my main priority

copa fed 1st rd

Copa Del Rey

Not much to say here, we played Second Division B1 team Cerceda, we managed to play awfully and lose 1-0. A very disappointing result

copa rd1

Second Division B

This is the big one, I NEED promotion this season. 3 seasons is more than enough in any division and I want to get moving now in my journey.

The season started really well, after 10 games we had won 7, drew 2 and lost 1. Then came a shocker of a result as we lost 4-1 to Gimnastica at home! It seemed to be only a small blip as we then went on a 10 game unbeaten run winning 7 and drawing 3. What became evident as the season progressed as there was a new team to replace Albacete who seemed unbeatable. Racing Santander has been relegated from Liga Adelante and even though we were top they were hot on our heels.

Then we hit a sticky patch. 6 games and only 1 win, this included defeat to Racing Santander and after this they had gone clear at the top. We tried to stay with them but they were totally unbeatable. Everytime we slipped up they won, and with 7 games to go they were 8 points clear.

We then played Santander and were thrashed 4-2. The dream of the title was virtually over, and even though we won our final 5 games of the season Santander has romped to the title losing only 2 games all season. Our season overall was fantastic, we had again beaten our points total from the previous season and unlike the other season we went into the play-offs in very good form, and also with a fully fit squad!

table

I felt confident going into the play-offs but knew from previous experience anything could happen.

The 1st round draw was made and we were playing L’Hospitalet who had ended 4th in their division. We were overwhelming favourites and when the 1st leg was over we had managed a respectable 1-1 draw away from home. The away goal was massive

po rd1 l1

So overwhelming favourites and heading into the home leg with an away goal, any kind of win would do, the game was cagey and at half time it was 0-0, we had the better of the game but I was nervous. The came the blow, L’Hospitalet scored, we had 30 minutes to save our season. We knocked on the door and it only took 13 minutes to get a reply as Romero popped up with a beautiful 18 yard shot after a lovely build up. We went at them but they held firm and the game went to extra time. No goals in extra time meant only 1 thing, yes PENALTIES! God I hate penalties.

In the end they crumbled under the pressure, missing 3 of their 4 penalties, we scored our 3 and were through! Phew!!!

po rd1 l2

The 2nd round was on paper going to be a lot tougher, we were playing Lugo who seemed a lot better than us.

The 1st leg again was away and wow what a result, we absolutely smashed them. In the end it was 4-0 to us but it could’ve been a lot more

po rd2 l1

We had 1 massive foot in the final round and with that I decided to rest a few players. The fringe players played awfully and we lost the home leg 2-0, it may have been a bad idea but morale didn’t seem to take too much of a hit. And for the 2nd season in a row we were into the final play-off, lets hope we can go that 1 step further

po rd2 l2

The final round again looked tough, we were playing Cadiz who had ended 2nd in their division and their team looked strong. We played the first leg at home and new only a comfortable win would do. And we did it!! A fantastic 3-0 win and one of our best performances of the season. We were nearly there, just 1 more leg to see out

po rd3 l1

And what a 2nd leg it was, after 25 minutes we were 2-0 up and 5-0 on aggregate and although Cadiz pulled a goal back we had done it!! Lealtad have been promoted! I am so happy, its taken 3 hard and stressful years to do it but we pulled it off, and fully deserved in my eyes. Bet Comochu wished he had stayed now!!

po rd3 l2

So next season Lealtad will be in Liga Adelante, and the board have helped me with much better wage and transfer budgets, not massive but £180k will do and our wage budget has doubled

budgets

So who were my best players? Here are a few screens of the end of season review news items.

Marc Nierga was an amazing signing, Comochu was well and truly forgotten as Nierga scored 24 goals in 41 games.

Once again Left Winger Espina was top of the assist charts

season stats season review

Omar Hernandez was named player of the year, rather surprisingly but he has been fantastic at RB all season and with 40 games under his belt ended with a rating of 7.3. It was also nice to see summer signing Lapena getting young player of the season

season awards

So there you have it we have done it!! And I cant wait to get the next season started. Its going to be massively tough but my squad is good and with a few additions I know we can stay up and hopefully surprise a few.

I really hope you enjoyed the update, if you have any comments for me either leave them on here or message me on Twitter @thatfmregen

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

