2033 – Corinthians Part 2

Good morning all and welcome back to another update in my quest to complete the Pentagon Challenge

As you will know from my last article I’m now 4/5ths of the way through the Pentagon with just South America to go. I have landed on my feet with an amazing job at Corinthians who are by far the best team in Brazil. Last season we won the Serie A Brazilian league and also won the Brazilian Cup. With that we had qualified for the Copa Libertadores.

So as I head into the new season I have a really good feeling about this, I know if things go to plan we can win the Copa Libertadores this season.

The squad looks really good but I know I need to make some improvements. A goalkeeper would be fantastic, as would a new LW and a new CM. I have £25m to spend a lot of spare wages so I really feel I can improve the squad massively.

Transfers In

The first thing I attempted to do was bring in last seasons player of the year Peter from Manchester City. He was amazing whilst on loan last season. Unfortunately Man City wanted £28.5m and wouldn’t budge on that, they also refused to send him back to me on loan so I had to give up and go on a hunt for a decent replacement

I did make a few signings and here they are:

Signing 1 – Claudio will provide good competition in Midfield, signed for £5.5m from Porto

t1

Signing 2 – A versatile Midfielder who can also play up front, signed on a season long loan from Porto

t2

Signing 3 – A strong Central Defender and will definitely be my first choice, signed from Shakhtar for a whopping £12.25m, a new club record

t3

Signing 4 – This guy is my replacement for Peter, not as good but a decent signing, cost me £6.5m from Flamengo

t4

Signing 5 – I signed this guy as I accepted am £8m bid from LA Galaxy for my 1st choice Goalkeeper Raul, he eventually rejected and stayed but I still decided to go ahead with the deal, cost me £2.5m from Atletico Paranaense

t5

And finally, Signing 6, I had no decent Right Wingers so signed this guy to add some quality to the position, cost me £8m from Avail.

t6

And with this my squad is complete, I ended up spending £35m so a bit more than my budget but I moved some the £500k spare wages I had to fund the deals. And here is my squad for the season ahead

squad

Then the board gave me their expectations for the season, it looks like the have high hopes!

expectations

Right I’m gonna cut straight to the big one, the thing I want to and need to win!

Copa Libertadores

The Group stage draw came out at the beginning of the season and it was a really good draw.

Really nothing to worry about here, Nacional (PAR) are probably my main competition and are ranked quite highly in the World Rankings but I expect to qualify easily out of the group.

copa lib draw

It went as expected and we dominated the group from start to finish with some excellent results and some thrashings along the way! 24 scored, 2 conceded. Really really pleasing and added to my expectation that I could win this the first time around

group 1 group 2

We moved into the Quarter Finals and were given a pretty easy draw in the form of Alianza of Peru. The 1st leg was away and we got off to a great start with a comfortable 2-0 win

q1

And the second leg went the same was as we won 2-0 and went through 4-0 on aggregate, next up in the Semi Final would be fellow Brazilian team Flamengo

q2

The 1st leg again was away and was a cagey affair, it was 0-0 after 50 mins, then the goals came and we came out with a 3-2 win but it could’ve gone either way, it was a pleasing result and knowing how good we are at home I expected to go through

s1

As expected the 2nd leg was a lot easier, we smashed them 5-1 and 8-3 on aggregate to claim a place in the final where we would play Argentinian team Newell’s Old Boys

s2

So the final, this is it, could we win it and do the unthinkable! Completing the Pentagon Challenge would be one of my greatest achievements on FM. I was incredibly nervous but also confident we could do it.

Again the 1st leg was away and like the Semi Final 1st leg it was a tight cagey game, at half-time it was 0-0 and then Newell’s took the lead, we managed to claw a goal back and then in the 92nd min we had done it, all our efforts paid off as we grabbed the goal to take a 2-1 lead. We are half way there!

f1

So to the home leg, and what a game it was! I’ll just let you look at the scoreline below!

f2

WE HAD DONE IT!!!!! A 6-1 win and 8-2 on aggregate! South American CHAMPIONS!!!!!

And with that I complete the Pentagon Challenge. Absolutely unbelievable, I never expected to do it and especially in only 18 years!

What a result, what a win, what a save! One of my best ever and one of the most enjoyable saves I’ve ever done. I’m so pleased to have shared it with you all and really hope you have enjoyed. I have had a few replies back to my comment about what I should do next and people have asked me to continue this save and set myself some new challenges. One of these is to Qualify for the World Cup with a team who have never qualified before so I will be doing that, but I need an idea for a club save. I have added a few new leagues to my save and here they are:

043ff55eb3646f85213a3631ff0fb141

I have a few ideas, one of it to use FMRTE and see if any clubs have had a tycoon takeover. One if to take over a team that has fallen from grace and try to rebuild them back to where they belong, but I’d like your thoughts on what I should do.

And finally here is my overall Pentagon achievements so you can see where I have been and what I have won

6ea6543c6d80b342f7f644928efdba07

Absolutely incredible! I really do feel the Manchester City part was my most enjoyable, they were seriously poor when I took over and were flirting with relegation and in 5 years I made them European Champions. What an amazing save, I wont ramble on anymore, just let it soak in and try a new challenge on this save. I would love you ideas/thoughts.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “2033 – Corinthians Part 2”

Leave a Reply

