2032 – The Pentagon final leg

Good morning everyone and welcome back to the Pentagon Challenge

As you will know from my previous article I am now on the final leg of winning all 5 continental trophies. Last time I had managed to win the European Champions League with Manchester City in my 5th season in charge. It was an amazing achievement and I now head into my 5th and final continent which is South America.

I immediately resigned from Man City after winning the Champions League and it only took around 2 months for the perfect job offer to come through. It was an amazing offer which I couldn’t turn down

yable

Corinthians of Brazil had just sacked their manager after being knocked out of the Copa Libertadores in the Quarter Final. They were the No. 1 ranked team in Brazil and are one of the best teams in South America. What a chance to complete the Pentagon in quick time!

I immediately accepted and went about assessing the club and the playing squad.

club squad

We are also in the middle of the Brazilian season, they State Championships are over and the Brasileirao Serie A had just just started, Corinthians find themselves 3rd after 9 games. Not a bad position to be in!

starting table

The squad itself looks ok but needs strengthening in a few areas. We desperately need another Central Midfielder, a Centre Back and a Left Back would be good as would an extra Attacking Midfielder. With £20m+ I can definitely find what I need with ease.

Transfers

Signing 1 – Eduardo will provide good competition at LB and can also deputise at RB. A £5m signing from Gremio

t1

Signing 2 – A tall, strong CB who will definitely be my 1st choice. A £6m signing from Atletico Paranaense

t2

Signing 3 – Will provide good competition in attacking midfield. Cost me £5m from Vitoria

t3

And finally Signing 4 – A decent looking CM, didn’t perform as well as I expected and we may need to look at better options next season! Cost me a large fee for someone who didn’t perform – £5.75m from Atletico Paranaense

t4

So signings complete and my squad looks good for the rest of the season. I am fully expecting to win the Brazil Serie A and hope to have a decent run in the cup. Qualification for the Copa Libertadores is imperative!

Copa de Brasil

Board Expectation – Win It

My Expectation – Win It

We had a really good campaign breezing through all rounds and easily got into the final where we will play Gremio

cup

The final like all rounds would be 2 legs, the 1st leg would be away, and we absolutely smashed Gremio 5-0!

leg 1

The 2nd leg was a breeze as well as we won the game 4-1 and 9-2 on aggregate. My 1st trophy in my 1st season in charge!

leg 2

The League

Board Expectation – Win It

My Expectation – Win It!

As you saw earlier I joined 9 games into the season (38 games total), we sat 3rd and were slowly hitting some form. This continued as we went on a 15 game unbeaten run to put ourselves top of the league. We did lose a few and lost our top spot to Santos for a few games. Santos kept up with us all the way and with 2 games to go we were top by 6 points. Only a point needed for the title. We then managed to lose our 37th game 1-0 away to Gremio. All we needed was a point in our final game at home to Internacional.

96e9b1b502fcaaaebe48f33019bee2cb

A 5-0 win! And with that win we complete the league and cup double! What an amazing start to my tenure, but one that really and truly was fully expected. We are the best team in Brazil by quite some way.

table

And with that league title we had qualified for the Copa Libertadores. I have full confidence that next season we can win it and complete the Pentagon Challenge! Maybe I’m getting ahead of myself a little!

End of Season Awards

Not to a few end of season awards

Peter, (who ironically is on loan from Manchester City, He was one of my signings when I was there and will certainly be a player I try and sign at the end of the season) won 2 awards, the best player and the player of the year.

poty best player

And here are his stats for the season

9175d88c19d937d5115b49c615680699

We also had 4 players in the Team of the Year (weirdly not Peter though!)

toty

So there you have it, a fantastic start at Corinthians, we have a great chance of winning the Copa Libertadores next season, we do need to strengthen in a few areas, mainly in Midfield and the board have given me plenty more funds to succeed in my aims

end of season budgets

£22m and £490k in extra wages is fantastic. One player I will definitely be trying to get will be Peter!

Thanks for reading everyone, I would like people thoughts on what I should do after I complete this challenge, I’m expecting to do it in maximum 2 seasons which means another 2 articles (If I win it of course) but I would like to hear your ideas on what I do next. Do I continue on with this save, maybe setting myself some new challenges? Do I start a new save for a new challenge? Or anything else you can think of?

You ideas/help would be greatly appreciated!

One thought on “2032 – The Pentagon final leg”

  1. Hey buddy, great updates as per always. Victory is so close now, I bet you can taste it! It will have been a phenomenal achievement once it’s all done and dusted.

    Personally I would love you to try the San Marino challenge, I’ve never had the courage to try it, but I think it if anyone can do it then you could! The only issue is time as it’s a long term challenge and obviously FM16 isn’t too far away now.

    Whatever you decide I’ll be reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

