2025 – Suwon Season 2

Goooooood evening all welcome back to the latest and in my opinion the best update yet on the Pentagon Challenge.

A quick recap for you, after winning the Champions League in Both Africa (with Thanda Royal Zulu) and North America (New York Red Bulls) I am now in Asia with South Korean side Suwon. Last season we were amazing in the domestic competitions winning both the league title and cup but unfortunately we fell short in the Asian Champions League, losing in the Quarter Finals to Saitama UTD.

My main issue last season was the lack of decent quality players in the squad so I was determined to go hunting for some better players to give us more of a chance in the Champions League. The domestic comps I believed would be a breeze but the continental comp seemed to be the stumbling block.

Firstly I wanted to re-sign my loan players from last season. Jonathon Ferratti was sensational last year so I made him my no. 1 target, fortunately Roma accepted my loan offer and he came back for another season. We also re-signing RB/CB Azul from Flamengo but my main striker last season Ricardo Rodrigues wasn’t allowed to re-join us on loan. I really needed 1 or 2 strikers as I had also lost my 2nd striker Michael John to FC Twente for £2.1m.

Budgets were really good, I had around £4m to spend with around £70k of spare budget. So 2 strikers needed, I also needed a back-up GK, a new CM or maybe 2 if possible and a player who can fill all the AM positions (I play 4231). I managed to sign all these, my only issue being there were literally no decent GKs so I had to scrape the barrel and sign someone half decent for not much money!

So my signings are as follows:

Signing 1 – This guy was the perfect fit, leaving Al-Nasar (KSA) on a free transfer I immediately made him my first signing, versatile and has some fantastic attributes which as you will see later on made him an influential player

t1

Signing 2 – A really decent looking CB, one of the better Korean players I could find and will fit well into the squad, a £500k signing from Chunnam

t2

Signing 3 – This guy was signed as a back-up and also a prospect for the future, he will fill in well when we have injuries/suspensions. A £700k signing from Pohang

t3

Signing 4 – If you know the English leagues you will probably know this guy, at Sunderland for a very short time. He fitted what I wanted in a striker perfectly, he cost me £900k from Anderlecht

t4

Signing 5 – This guy was a late addition, signing on a season long loan from Southampton

t5

And finally, Signing 6 – This was the best GK I could find for cheap as all others were either too expensive or didn’t want to join. He cost me £130k from Busan

t6

Eventually I feel I have a squad capable of challenging the Asian elite, and when the group stage draw was made I knew it was going to be tough. I was handed my foes from the previous tournament Saitama UTD, also I was given Central Coast Mariners who beat me in the group stage last time and Chinese team Jiangsu. It was a tough group but one I knew I could get out of.

But I’ll come to Champions League later!

The Domestic Comps

There nothing I can say to tell you how amazing this season was. Ill let you see the table first

table

Yes you read it right!! 34 wins and 4 draws from 38 games. This is my first unbeaten season on FM15 and only my 2nd ever on any FM version. Nothing will ever top this season. We were amazing throughout, averaging around 3.5 goals a game, conceding under 1 a game. I have never done this well. One season I will treasure in the memory for a very long time!

But we aren’t done yet! For the 3rd straight season we won the Domestic Cup. Again no one could stop us as we breezed into the through the Knockout Rounds and beat Jeonbuk 2-1 in the final, my man Ji Dong-Won scoring the winner late on. The domestic double for the 2nd season in a row, could it get any better? Well maybe! I still have the Champions League to go through yet!

cup

Asian Champions League

As mentioned earlier our group looked tough but in the end we got through easy topping the group only losing 1 game to Saitama UTD. The other two never got a chance and as you can see from the table Saitama and ourselves comfortably went through to the 2nd round

acl group resultsacl grop table

So to the 2nd round and we were handed what looked on paper an easy tie. We were given fellow K League team Chunnam who were currently bottom of the league! A 5-2 win in the 1st leg Away set us up and although we drew the Home leg 0-0 the damage had been done and we were through to our 2nd successive quarter final.

acl 2nd rd

Our quarter final opponents were Japanese side Giurare Yokohama, we drew the 1st leg away 1-1, an away goal was a great start but the 2nd leg was unbelievable! Yes we won 9-0! A breeze into the Semi Final where we were handed the tough task of…. yes you guessed it SAITAMA UTD! Can we get past them this time?!

acl q

Well the 1st leg at Home went to plan but it was the same result as last season and we know what happened then!

64cd8073f2336cccd2f1b80f4c3a53fe

A great start, a 2 goal lead and no away goal conceded, can we do it? The answer was….

c10188e5fe5aebdbfeaffe84d4c18f19

YES WE CAN!! Eventually! A fantastic 2-1 win, although until the 56th minute it was very nervy! Suwon are into the final and we will play Saudi Arabian side Al-Hilal, 3 times winner and 3 times runner-up. I felt confident, if we play as well as I know we can we would win.

The day of the 1st leg came, we are at home first, confidence was high, by now we had won the league so players were able to be rested prior to the game and it worked! What a result!

acl final 1st leg

5-0!!!!!!! And 4 for my reserve striker Jae-Young (Ji was suspended). We had 1 hand on the trophy, all we have to do is to not do something silly!

In the end it was comfortable as we won 3-1 and 8-1 on aggregate

acl final 2nd leg

WE HAD DONE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Champions League No. 3 of 5 is down. I couldn’t believe it, we were doing sooooo well in the league that I always expected a slip up, I did feel once the Semi Final was won we were going to win it outright. Saitama UTD were the stumbling block but we got past them and in then end smashed the final!

An amazing season, the domestic/continental treble. One of, if not the best season I’ve ever had.

End of Season Awards

As expected we dominated the end of season awards, here are a few below:

8 of the 11 players were from Suwon in the Team of the Year

toty

Ex-Sunderland boy Ji won the Top Goalscorer award

top goalscorer

And here are Ji’s stats

top goalscorer stats

Another new signing Seung-Woo won the “FAN’tastic Player of the Year award

fanst poty

And here is why!

fans poty stats

For the 2nd year in a row Ferratti won the Player of the Year award

poty

And also for the 2nd year in a row. Left Winger In-Sung won the Young Player of the Year

ypoty2 ypoty

There not much else I can say apart from WOW what a season! But things got EVEN better!

Days before the end of the domestic season a job came available that I couldn’t not turn down. And the day after the season ended the offer came in. There’s no way I can say no to this offer!

chile job offer

One incredible offer on the table! Universidad de Chile, predicted 1st in the league have just ended 15th (out of 18) in the League 1st stage. Their squad is incredibly thin on the ground, but we have so much money to spend I can only improve + they are already in the Copa Libertadores which starts in Feb 2026 so its a no-brainer I have to accept!

Can I improve on what has happened this season? No chance! But I’m incredibly confident of a damn good challenge for domestic and continental honours, can I tick off Champions League No. 4?! Lets do this!

Hope you enjoyed this update, thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

