2021 – New York and England Season 2

Good evening all and welcome back to the latest update in my quest to complete the Pentagon Challenge

As some of you may know I have decided to start a little bit of streaming, mainly around this save, this means a couple of things

  • No more Instant Result!!!
  • Updates may take a little longer to come up on here as playing games means seasons take longer
I am also going to shrink down the amount of content in the updates. No more month by month updates. Ill go back to my Alphabet challenge style updates where I talk about transfers, and then the season in general
So here we go, after last seasons triumph with New York Red Bull I knew this season was going to be a good one. Confidence is high and I’m back in the Champions League. Although we have a few months before this starts. The MLS seasons starts in February but the CL doesn’t start until August.
Pre-season started and I really didn’t want to muck around with my squad too much, what I first noticed was the amount of silly offers coming in for my players. When I say silly I mean high offers. I eventually caved in and sold 1 player. George Green departed for £4.5m (I bought him for £220k 12 months ago). Other offers came in but I resisted. The board had given me £6m transfer budget so I could improve if I needed.
Due to Conor Washington and Clint Dempsey both leaving I needed to sign 1 or maybe 2 strikers. I also wanted to get another decent Goalie in and maybe a CM or 2 as well
Here is who I signed:
Djeradi was signed on a season long loan from America (MEX), he will provide good competition up front
ceaedb418c643e712d230d423eac4875
Robson was signed again on a season long loan. He was a last minute decision to bolster my Wingers
4808568bfdc0ec69995bb1a0152fbff7
Papa Mendy was signed as my 2nd Striker behind Eduardo, a pretty decent looking striker signed from Maccabi Haifi for £1.6m. As you can see from his picture he unhappy,, the screenshot was taken at the end of the season and was unhappy due to lack of game time
116528cea21e4d29b0e662f50d44fc62
Vagner was signed as competition to Steven Lade, a £500k capture from Toronto
352b6c11a88d7775ccba944b06ec3de7
And finally, an amazing coup on a free transfer. Ainsley Maitland-Niles will provide great competition in midfield
30b26b7b6eaee66e434e67dbd7a7a3a4
So my squad is assembled, I have a really good squad, confident I can easily win the MLS, its the Champions League I’m more concerned about but I have 6 months to prepare
The domestic season was absolutely incredible, if you happened to catch some of my streaming over Friday and Today you will know how ridiculous it got, We smashed everyone, a 9-2 thrashing of Los Angeles was definitely my best. Over the season we only lost 2 games, and we won the overall league table by an absolute mile
6a9467f2202c1134e30d3d98fd0d239d
28 points clear! Absolutely insane, we broke record after record, Most goal scored, most wins, most points, Record goalscorer as well. I fully expected to top the table but not by that much.
We then progressed to the Play-off Semi Final where we played Wild Card winners New York City, and it was comfortable, we won both legs 4-1 and progressed to the final where we played Orlando City
semi
A 5-1 win in the away leg and after a draw in 2nd leg and we were through to our 2nd straight MLS Cup final where we played Vancouver (remember I turned them down to take the New York job?!)
e final
And it was an easy 3-0 win. MLS Cup winners again!!! And with that another NACL qualification for the 2022/23 season
final
So MLS Cup won, we also had the NACL Group stage towards the end of the season. We were drawn in a group with Toronto and Costa Rican team Cartagines. I fully expected to qualify and in the end it was pretty easy. We slipped up with a draw in 1 game but the 3 wins put us through and we progressed to the Quarter Finals which wont start until February so wont be until next season
nacl results nacl table
The draw was made right at the end of the MLS season for the Quarters and we were given a pretty easy draw against fellow MLS team FC Dallas. I full expect to win this, in the regular season we beat then 2-1 away and 3-1 at home.
So end of the season and again we swept the board in the awards.
Curtis Obeng won Defender of the Year, like last season he was incredibly consistent. 30 games with an average rating of 8.04
Vagner won Goalkeeper of the Year. He ousted Lade out of the team after a few games and kept 11 clean sheet in the 31 games he played
Eduardo again won the Golden Boot, he scored 34 goals in 23 games, even better than last season!
And finally, Manfred Osei-Kwando won the MVP award, he was truly stunning, with an average rating of 8.31 and 12 goals in 32 games
So what a season, I really hope now we can win the NACL this season. I’m pretty confident, the squad is good and we are as good as the other teams in the competition but its still going to tough. I do have a few players leaving on frees as they don’t want to sign so I will need to strengthen the squad a bit more.
Right now to England, when I left it last time we had just had our World Cup Qualification group drawn and what an easy group it was. We had:
Poland, Romania, Cyprus, Moldova and Kazakhstan
I fully expected to win the group and it started amazing. An 11-0 win against Kazakhstan started the campaign and we went on from there. We then had 2 games in June where we slipped up slightly, we lost 2-1 away to Poland and somehow scraped a 3-2 win against Romania scoring in the 93rd min. Even so we ended up winning the rest of the games and topped the group easily. I was disappointed with the Poland defeat but in the end we played well and the team did what was expected
092871bf812966cb43d7cf8c09f979a3 6dbf343900a73027cb5c51293fc675e6
We then received our World Cup draw and we it was more good news as we were handed this group
e73cb09e270d8daedd38c60a0fe2e8cc
A really easy group with the highest ranked team being Uruguay in 19th.
So there you have it another great season and I’m well on the way t my 2nd Champions League title. As I said earlier I will be doing more streaming of this save so please check out my Twitch Channel http://www.twitch.tv/thatfmregen and drop me a follow or keep an eye on my Twitter page @thatfmregen for when I will be streaming
Thanks for reading x
Leave a Reply

