2019 – Zulu Season 6 (or at least part of it!)

Hello all and welcome back to what may quite a short update in the Pentagon Challenge

As you will know from the previous article the last season was amazing, we had won the South African Premier League, but this challenge is all about winning the Champions League and as you will know we were currently on course for a semi-final spot in the 2019 CL.

My reasons for the quick update you will see below!

After last season I really didn’t need to improve my squad at all. The squad itself won the Premier League and I feel we can easily push for the Champions League title with what I have. The issue I had was I lost 1 of my CMs as he was out of contract and didn’t want to re-sign, I then also lost probably my best player Makuela Masuko to Kaizer Chiefs for £675k, this matched his release clause and he wouldn’t enter into negotiations for a new contract.

So I had to go on the hunt for 2 new CMs, I also needed to replace Centre Back Dean Galloway who after a few mediocre years I sold to Amazulu for £6.75k

I managed to replace all 3 with the following players

Signing 1 – Shongwe, a top quality CM, signed from Kaizer Chiefs for £200k

t1

Signing 2 – Maruping, Signed from Sundowns for £74k, Maruping is a pretty decent CB who will provide stiff competition to the other Centre Backs

t2

And finally, Signing 3 – Khuzwayo, another CM but one for a the future, signed from Ajax CT for £125k

t3

So after these signings my squad looks like this, top quality for this league and definitely primed for the Champions League

squad

So here we go , the season starts, I made sure we had some easy and some quality friendlies as the CL starts in earnest in July. The 3-1 win against CS Sfax put us top of the group and secured us qualification to the Semi-Final with 2 games to go

july

August

A busy month but a successful month. We did lose to Etolle in the CL and draw Al-Ahly but the 1 point secured us top spot in the group and a challenging Semi-Final 2 legged game against Es Tunis.

In the league we start well with 2 wins, we also progressed to the final of the Super 8 with wins against Vasco CT and a 2 legged aggregate win in the Semi against Kaizer Chiefs.

august

Here is how the Champions League Group Stage ended

cl group final

September

We are into the final!!!!! A fantastic 3-0 1st leg away win put us in a commanding position and even though we lost the home leg we got through to the final 5-3 on aggregate. In the final we have our old enemies Kaizer Chiefs!!

sept

October

The league now is put to the back burner as we have 2 major finals (the Super 8 and the 1st leg of the African CL) this month. A 1-0 defeat in the league to Sundown starts the month, but I played a virtual reserve team in preparation for the Super 8 final against SuperSport, it paid off as we won in the final 4-1 and claimed our first trophy of the season. Again I play 2 league games with reserve teams to keep our 1st teamers fit for the impending CL final 1st leg

october

And here we go, the 1st leg, lets get a lead to take us into the away leg! What happens is one of the best results I could imagine. A 5-0 win!!!! The title is in our hands!!

cl final 1

Next up the away leg and although we lost 2-0 the title is ours!!!!!!! Thanda Royal Zulu African Champions League winner!!!!!

cl final 2

cl winner

I have no words for how this save has gone so far! When I started I wanted to take over a small team and as I progress I’ll get better jobs and win it with a bigger team e.g. Kaizers or Orlando, I never ever expected to win it with such a small team!

After this I have decided to resign and move to the next continent which will be North America. This is why the update is so short, the MLS season has just finished so its prime time to be applying for jobs before the new season starts.

So the journey with Zulu is over and what a journey its been! Here are my achievements and stats over my 5 1/2 years at the club

trophies STATS

Amazing the amount of silverware I’ve won in 5 and a bit seasons, Zulu had never won anything before I took over, but I leave them with 1 SA 1st Division title, 1 Premier League title, 2 FA Cups, 1 KO Cup and 2 Super 8 wins. I hope I leave the club in good hands, they have a new stadium being built and expected to be completed in 2021, they have a link to the English Premier League and now have a bank balance of £5.5m.

5f6656f974e5975892a693d20580ca5a

Its been an amazing journey and one i’ll never forget, goodbye Zulu, and hello North America!

The next choice is upto you, immediately after resigning I was offered 2 jobs in the MLS. I want some interaction here so I have set up a StrawPoll. The vote closes at 19:00 tonight where I will go with the job with the most votes

d8a8c01c62ce4000b28730827fe65b48 228162a62a68703048d433b184074415

And here is the StrawPoll link http://strawpoll.me/5107303

Please vote and let me know who you have voted for either by a comment on here or on Twitter @thatfmregen

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

