2049/50 – Italy/AC Milan

Good afternoon all and welcome back to the latest instalment in the Alphabet Challenge.

A quick recap, last season I was in India and managed to win the “Super League” first time around with East Bengal. To be honest the season was pretty boring so I was really looking forward to cracking on and finding a better club in a more exciting league.

It didn’t take long for that job to come along. AC Milan, fresh from sacking their manager after coming 5th in the 48/49 season came calling. They offered me hardly very small budget of £425k but a massive wage budget. I accepted immediately and firstly went about sorting the budgets. After I shrunk down the wage budget I got myself to a budget of £7.5m, this was also increased when the season expectations came up and I put pressure on myself by changing the expectations to “Title Challenge” this increased it to £20m (with a couple of players sales included)

The squad itself is pretty good, we do have a lot of mediocre players and my first job was to ship these out, most went on frees but I did manage to recoup £11m on 3 players. I identified that I really needed a GK and a new CB. A RW, a defensively minded CM would also be good.

Here are my signings that I made in the summer

1be5842745f41793bef5a913b255baa8

Nils Heinrich was signed as my 1st choice GK, Bruno and Kalkan are both CBs although Kalkan can also play CM. Garabato is a RW, Alonso a striker and Plata is a CM and was signed to replace a large numer of terrible CMs I seemed to have in my squad.

Overall I sold 15 players, only 5 of these commanded any kind of transfer fee, even with all these outgoing I still had a pretty decent and large squad

34a82d20181280b10cfccc011a79ca5a

There are 2 players in this squad that I signed in the January transfer window when I gained a bit more budget. Richard Pritchard was signed for £14.75m and Matt Young was signed for £2.1m, Both these players were signed on pre-contracts for the next season but I paid their clubs off to get them straight the way.

So there’s the transfers and squad, I headed into the new season pretty confident. Juventus and Inter are by far the best 2 teams in the league but I felt that we could challenge them especially with the squad I have.

The season started amazingly after 12 games we had won 10 and drew 2, we were 5 clear of Juventus. Although we did drop off slightly we managed to go through the season losing only 1 game which was a 3-0 Home defeat to Juve. Even so we hammered the league winning the league by 6 points. It was another amazing season, expected but we definitely deserved it.

cbf0a4dfec8770b6f26286edab6fef14

So we had won the league at the first time of asking, what an achievement. Now to the cups

I wont too much into these because frankly we were dire! In the Italian Cup we were knocked out the Semi final over 2 legs to Bologna. I did rotate the team a bit which lead to our downfall but the league is what is important in this save so I wasn’t bothered

e5946314085e57f0eeaf4be4b630f26f

We were also entered into the Europa League, and started in the 3rd qualifying round. We breezed into the group stage beating Helsingborg 6-0 home and away in the 3rd Qualifying round and then beating Legia Warsaw 8-0 home and away! Absolutely incredible to be honest but proves how good we are and how poor other teams are!

In the group stage I was confident of progressing, we drew Aberdeen, Hannover and FC Copenhagen. We started well winning out first 2 games but after that we were awful and only scraped through in 2nd place.

ea2ea1d88cd2d64ce0d47d96ebea9783

We then played AEK Athens in the 1st Knockout Round and after an awful first leg where we lost 3-1 at home we were knocked out, We did managed to win the away leg 1-0 but it wasn’t enough. I was very disappointed, it was one of the trophies I really wanted to win but as said before the league is what matters in this save.

Now to the end of season awards. We managed to get 4 players in the Team of the Year

911e8db808794178eb61069044b96219

Daniel Kudela was also named Italian Young Player of the Year

d772d3f11374f7caacf65ff623ade6b2 c671a233135a6f1bf6072629f1a19627

And although he didn’t even get in the Team of the Year. Yohan Letellier was named Player of the Year. He had one unbelievable season, he broke the AC Milan record for assists after 13 games and at that point had an average rating of 9.03! He was only hampered with numerous injuries through the season which all seemed to crop up when in International duty with France

a24cd072870461c9b2d06fb02ff9247b 8bd214a6d47339c427c13f7dd0372989

So there you have it, another season down and another country ticked off the list. I now head to the next “I” country which is either Iceland, Israel or Ireland

Thanks for reading, I have some spare time the next few days so hoping to get some more updates up so stayed tuned!

Leave a Reply

