2044/45 – Holland/Feyenoord

Good evening all and welcome to my latest post in the Alphabet Challenge.

Last time out I had just won the Hong Kong top league with Kitchee. I resigned from there in May 2043. It took over 12 months to get a new job but eventually I job came my way that appealed, Feyenoord came calling, they had just sacked their boss after coming 6th in the Eredivisie and wanted me to lead them to success. Feyenoord has previously won the league 2040 and wanted me to get them the league title back.

The squad itself was pretty good, I needed to sign a new Left Back and a new Goalkeeper. A budget of £6m was pretty decent but I felt I could make the most of the loan and pre-contract market. Here are my signings I made

transfers

The only money I spent was on GK Stewart Clemence. He was 1st choice for England but not for Man City but would be good competition in my squad. Fred Krul was signed as my back-up LB. Bart de Jong as CM. Cesar Azpilicueta (no not him as he would be over 40 by now) was loaned to us as our back-up RW but left mid-season as he didn’t get enough game time. By far our best signing was RM/AM Jairzinho, loaned to us for the season and was sensational. Duhalde and Sari were both signed to strengthen the squad.

After all these signings my squad looked like this. I felt it was really strong and possessed enough quality to challenge for the league title

squad

The league itself is very poor. No on team has dominated unlike other leagues I have been in. We had an amazing start winning 10 out of the first 11 games and never looked back from there. We had won the league by 7 points/We had a small blip mid-season but it was mainly down to injuries and games backing up due to being in Europa and the Dutch Cup. It was a great achievement winning the league but one I definitely expected after out start

table

In the Dutch Cup we got all the way to the final, losing to Ajax. It was a great run but in the end I was disappointed not to win it and claim the domestic double

cup tree

A 3-0 defeat in the final was awful but Ajax well and truly deserved it.

We had also got ourselves into the Europa League as the team has won the European Playoff at the end of last season. Feyenoord were entered into the 3rd Qualifying Round were we played Panduril, it was a comfortable win.

el 3q

We then played Bulgarian team Beroe and won both legs 2-1 to claim a place in the Europa League Group stage

el po

We had a pretty tough group but managed to scrape top spot and a place in the Knockout Round

el group

We then had one amazing run to get through to the Semi Final, we avenged our cup final defeat to Ajax by beating them in the Last 16. In the end we lost to Mainz in the Semi Final. It was a brilliant European campaign but once again I fell short

el

So there you have it, another great season, another title win and another Country ticked off the list. I now head to my final “H” country which is Hungary. Hopefully it wont take me as long to get a job offer this time!!

Leave a Reply

