2041/42 – Greece/Olympiakos

Good evening all and welcome to my latest update on the Alphabet Challenge

Firstly my apologies for the slow update. I’ve had a rough week and really wondering if continuing was worthwhile. After a nice chat and few decent messages from some avid followers I’ve decided to continue

Last time out I had just won the German league with Dortmund, the next country I have to conquer is Greece. A job came incredibly quickly and it was the best one possible. Olympiakos came calling. They had won the previous 10 league titles and the board wanted me to replace the outgoing manager who had jumped ship to join Benfica.

The board had handed me a healthy budget of £10m but looking at the squad I only really needed to strengthen with a decent defensive midfielder and then sign some backup players to just strengthen the squad as a whole

I decided to blow all my budget on a DM. Mario Garcia was signed for £8m from West Brom. He was transfer listed as he wanted champions league football

  
As I had spent nearly all my budget on 1 player I had to make saving so decided my other signings would be loans. Couto was signed as a versatile fullback. Fernando is a CM and Moreno is a Striker.

So here is my squad for the season, good quality in all areas and good for a push for the title

   
As you can see from the stats we had a very good season. Culminating with a the league title and cup double. It was a very good season but to be honest we didn’t play well in the league. Too many sloppy defeats but overall we did what we were expected to do

  
We won the league by 8 points but only wrapped it up when we beat Panathanaikos with 3 games to go. Up until then it was very close!

We also won the Greek cup in which we were never really troubled. We wee entered straight into the 2nd round which comprises of a group stage of groups of 3 where we play 2 games!

  
2 wins out of 2 and an easy qualify for the knockout stages where we won each round and easily won in the final

  
It was a comfortable season, one we wee never really troubled. In Europe that was a different story.

We were entered into the Champions League in the 3rd qualifying round where we thrashed Videoton

  
 In the playoff we played Malmo and again we breezed through and got ourselves a spot in the group stages

  
We were handed a very tough group where we were given Man City and Benfica. We still managed to end 3rd and give ourselves a spot in the knockout stages of the Europa League

  
The Europa league was absolutely amazing. Somehow we managed to make it all the way to the final beating some very good teams on the way. Unfortunately we couldn’t cap it off with a win and lost 1-0 to Leverkusen. It was a great run and one I will look back on with a lot of pride. Our 3-0 home win against Araenal in the semi final was definitely the highlight

 
So there u have it, another country down and another letter down! I now move on to “H” where I have the choice of Holland, Hungary and the mighty Hong Kong!

Thanks for reading, please drop me some feedback and if you like what you read drop me a like or a RT on Twitter @thatfmregen

Leave a Reply

