2035/36 – England (Manchester United)

Good afternoon and welcome back to the latest post in my Alphabet Challenge

Last time out I had just completed D and the only country which was Denmark. My next stop is England as its the only E country in FM15.

The Danish season finishes in June so there wasn’t much time to find a job for the start of the next season. As mentioned in my previous most of the “big 6” clubs had changed their manager in the previous season so wasn’t expecting much chance of a decent job. The only that came up was Manchester City which I applied for but failed to get. Then November came and the perfect job came up on the other side of Manchester with United. After 11 games they were languishing in 13th position with only 9 points.

I was given a transfer kitty of £50m but as it was mid-season and I hate doing business then I decided to stick with my squad, focus on winning games and get the morale back. The squad itself looks like this. We have some very highly rated players so I was confident I could turn their fortunes around.

squad

We have decent cover in all positions and also a big enough squad to cope with the League, FA Cup and Champions League which when I took over we were top of the group after 4 games.

As I said I made no transfers.

In the league we were nothing short of sensational and the league ended up with one of the tightest ends to a season ive seen. With 1 game left Man City were top with 72 points, we were 2nd on 70 and Chelsea were 3rd on 70 but a worse off GD. We had an amazing turnaround, we only lost 1 game in the 27 games I took charge of which saw us shoot up the table. With Man City playing at home to WBA I knew it was a long shot for them to slip up.

The final game arrived and we won our game 5-1 at home to QPR but Man City also won 2-0 so 2nd place it was. Still an amazing achievement to come back from such a dismal start.

In the FA Cup we were brilliant, getting into the final with wins against Arsenal and Man City on the way and in the final we beat Southampton 5-1

facup

facupfinal

We also had a very good run in the Champions League getting to semi finals where we were outclassed by the eventual winners Barcelona

clgroup clko

I was still very pleased with how well we performed overall. In the semi we lost the first leg away 3-2 but couldn’t get that goal we needed in the home leg to get through.

Overall it was a very good 2/3rds of the season with me in charge and with a transfer kitty of £85m next season I’m confident I can win the Premier League with hopefully a good chance of winning the CL as well.

A few end of season awards of note.

Footballer of the Year went to Striker Sandro Scienza, he had a fantastic season scoring 17 in 26 league games.

foty

foty2

Players Player of the Year went to Winger Diogo Chaby, he had a very consistent season notching up 11 goals and 14 assists in 37 league games.

ppoty

ppoty2

We also had 6 players in the team of the year

toty

So there you go, another really good season, hopefully next season bring s me the league success I need to continue my journey through the alphabet.

Thanks for reading. Please leave any feedback whether good or bad either on here or via Twitter @thatfmregen

Leave a Reply

