2016 – The sharp slide of San Lorenzo

Wow what a rollercoaster ride the 2016 season has been!

After coming 8th with San Lorenzo in 2015 I was hoping for a decent start to the next season hopefully pushing ourselves into continental qualification

The first half of the season was absolutely stunning. We found ourselves top by 6 points when the mid season break came about and I was really really hopeful for a title challenge, here are our first half season results

14f2b29cf5a862c5a58419a6e21c4779

The came the bad news:

receivership

Yes the receivers came in, this is the first time ive ever seen this on FM in any version. We found ourselves £27m in debt and not because of me, I had spent £0 money in the 12 months I had been there.

What I found is that the receivers are in total charge of transfers and will sell all players whatever the price. Within afew weeks I had lost 11 of my 1st team players

1

My squad had been absolutely destroyed, all the hard work I had done to get us to top of the league seems in vain. By the time the deadline has close on 1st September I had 9 games to and was only 3 points clear at the top.

In the end we lost the title on the final game of the season. We had a good run by Boca won nearly all their remaining games and we couldn’t keep up with them. Overall I was really proud of the way we performed but the cash crisis we found ourselves in had put pay to any dream of the title

The table ended like this:

table

We then entered into a play off for the continental qualification but ended 4th out of 4. We just couldn’t keep up!

superclasico

The season is over and there seems no end in the sales of players. We have already lost another 9 players in the close season and its really beginning to get annoying. No funds to improve and our squad is incredibly thin on the ground. Hopefully a job will come in soon as I don’t want to be sticking around any longer!

1

Update: After 2 games of the 2017 season I got offered the job with Boca Juniors after their manager left for Uruguay. An amazing offer and a great way out of an awful situation!

Hopefully the next update will bring good news!

Leave a Reply

